Regarding the novel coronavirus: Due to the government's recommendations, the University of Borås has moved over to online instruction. This is valid until the end of the term on 7 June. Stay updated.

2011-12-08 08:16

The Nobel Prize 2011

December 10 is the Nobel day, on this date the annual Nobel Laureates will receive their prizes at a grand ceremony followed by a glamorous banquet. The Peace Prize ceremony is held in Oslo, Norway and the other prizes are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden.

The first Nobel Prizes were awarded in 1901, and since then 549 prizes has been awarded. The laureates receive a diploma, a gold medal and approximately 10 million SEK.

If you are interested in the Nobel Prize and the 2011 laureates – visit www.nobelprize.org to read more. The award ceremonies and lectures will be broadcasted live online.

You are also welcome to have a look at this year’s Nobel Prize Exhibition in the Library, floor 2, and learn more about the 2011 laureates.

The 2011 Nobel Laureates

Economic Sciences
Thomas J. Sargent, USA
Christopher A. Sims, USA

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberia
Leymah Gbowee, Liberia
Tawakkol Karman, Yemen

Saul Perlmutter, USA
Brian P. Schmidt & Adam G. Riess, USA

Dan Shechtman, Israel

Tomas Tranströmer, Sweden

Physiology or Medicine
Bruce A. Beutler, USA & Jules A. Hoffmann, Luxembourg
Ralph M. Steinman, Canada


Text: Sara Hellberg