Make a nomination for the University of Borås’s Educational Prize

The University of Borås’s Educational Prize for 2015 is given to a course team, i.e. a group of educators responsible for a specific course.  All students and staff at the university are able to nominate the group of educators who they think offer a course in which the students’ learning is in focus with a well-considered pedagogical approach.

– The jury panel has determined that greater weight will be given to educators who collaborate as a team, so from this year forward, nominations can only be made for a group of educators who work together with a course, and not for specific educators, says Martin Hellström, Pro Vice-Chancellor at the University of Borås, who adds that the jury panel this year has been increased with another student representative.

– When courses have a good pedagogical approach, students are often more engaged and in that way get more out of a course. Just as important as having an instructor who is a good teacher is having a pedagogical approach in a course in which the whole course team is involved and contributes. Those of us who are in the Student Union are glad that we students can help to influence education at the university, says Helny Malmborg, President of the Student Union of Borås.

The course team must work at the University of Borås and, during the year 2015, have made significant pedagogical efforts in a course within undergraduate, graduate, or doctoral education. The prize is a travel grant (for study travel, conference participation, or similar activities related to pedagogy) of 50,000 Swedish crowns that is given to the course team that planned and conducted the course.

Prize-winners are selected by a committee consisting of the Pro Vice-Chancellor, two representatives from the Student Union of Borås, and the Head of Department of the Department of Educational Research and Development at the University of Borås. The prize is awarded in conjunction with the professorial inauguration and conferment ceremony of doctoral degrees on 13 May 2016.

This is how you make a nomination

Send your suggestion for the course/course team as well as a short explanation of your reasoning to no later than 22 January 2016. Specify Dnr: 740-15 in the nomination.

The Educational Prize over the years

New rules for the prize were introduced in 2004 (516-04-10)

2014              Gunilla Elber
2013              Lennart Boman
2012              Johan Eklund
2011              Jan Nolin
2010              Eli Bytoft Nyaas, Fernando Seoane Martinez
2009              Clemens Thornquist
2008              Dag Henriksson, Richard Baldwin
2007              Linda Östlundh
2006              Rolf Appelkvist
2005              Course team for ”Design för det goda livet” (Johan Huldt, Larsh Eriksson, Lars G Strömberg, Agneta Nordlund Andersson, Marcus Bergman, Torsten Hildt, Magnus Larsson)
2004              Roy Andersson

Establishment of a prize for flexible learning and the supervision of doctoral students, three prizes announced in 2001

2003              Annette Eliasson, Peter Kammensjö, Dennis Beach
2002              Lennart Boman, Anita Eklöf, Göran Goldkuhl
2001              Mimmi Kylemark, Martin Voss

Establishment of Educational Prize in 1992

2000              Bernt Evertsson
1999              Maria Ferlin
1998              Bo Westerlund
1997              Christina Rinaldo
1996              missing
1995              Göran Berntsson
1994              Rolf Gustafsson
1993              missing
1992              Brita-Lena Json Öman