Friday with an academic shine

The professorial inauguration and the doctoral degree conferment ceremony were at the center of the hour-long ceremony that began with the academic procession entering the hall to violin music and waving flags.

"We want to recognize great achievements and successful academic work," said Vice-Chancellor Björn Brorström in his introductory statement. He also pointed out the academy's fundamental role and values at a time when "facts and knowledge are handled negligently in many parts of the world".

Ceremony 2018

Two new professors were inaugurated:

  • Daniel Ekwall, Professor of Textile Management
  • Nawar Kadi, Professor of Textile Technology

Five new doctors participated in the conferment ceremony:

  • Gabriella Norberg Boysen, Caring Sciences
  • Marjan Kooroshnia, Design – Textile Design
  • Ramkumar B. Nair, Resource Recovery – Biotechnology
  • Regina Jijoho Patinvoh, Resource Recovery – Biotechnology
  • Vijay Kumar, Textile Management

Achievement awards were presented to two new docents:

  • Daniel Hjelmgren, Business Administration
  • Rudrajeet Pal, Textile Management

The Pedagogical Prize of 2017 was awarded the course teaching team behind:

  • Swedish as a Second Language with Focus on Didactics for Teachers Working in Grades 7 to 9, I

Text: Staffan Ljung
Translation: Suss Wilén
Photo: Suss Wilén