The Governing Board at the University of Borås

The university’s operations are governed by a board.The governing board is to supervise all matters concerning the university and is responsible for the performance of its duties. The Vice-Chancellor is the governing board’s immediate subordinate executive for the operations.

The Chairperson is appointed by the Swedish government. The Vice-Chancellor is a board member. The board appoints its own Deputy Chairman. In the Vice-Chancellor’s absence, the Pro Vice-Chancellor is the substitute board member.


Gunilla Herdenberg, Chairperson
Mats Tinnsten, Vice-Chancellor
Anna Nilsson Ehle
Paul Frankenius
John Rune Nielsen
Claes Redberg
Roger Säljö, Deputy Chairman
Agneta Stark
Hanne Smidt Södergård

Teacher representatives

Viktor Aldrin
Kimmo Kurkinen
Berit Lindahl

Student representatives

Ellen Högberg, student union chairman
Joakim Byvik
John Lindskog

Union representatives

Jonas Andersson, OFR
Martin Behre, SACO


Lovisa Ekwall

Scheduled meetings

The dates of board meetings as well as the deadlines for submitting preparatory documents for board meetings are specified below. You will find information about the handling of documents under Board routines.

Documents should be sent by e-mail to hb-styrelse@hb.se about four weeks before each board meeting and a signed paper copy should also be sent to the secretary.