Organizational chart

The University of Borås is organised according to the following structure:

The Governing Board of the University of Borås

The Governing Board of the University of Borås has supervision over all the university's concerns and is ultimately responsible for the fulfilment of its work. The Vice-Chancellor, who answers to the Governing Board, is responsible for leading the university.


The university's Research and Education Board as well as the Artistic Research and Education Board are organisationally placed directly under the Governing Board.


The Vice-Chancellor’s Executive Office is placed under the Vice-Chancellor as is a line organisation consisting of four Faculties. There is also a unit for Professional Services. The Faculties as well as Professional Services are in turn organised into a number of departments and offices, respectively.

Vice-Chancellor’s Executive Office

  • Vice-Chancellor's Executive Office with Strategists and Advisors
  • Research and Innovation consisting of Science Park Borås and Grants and Innovation Office (GIO)

Faculty of Textiles, Engineering and Business

  • Department of Design
  • Department of Business Administration and Textile Management
  • Department of Engineering
  • Department of Resource Recovery and Building Technology
  • Department of Textile Technology
  • Textiles Labs

Faculty of Caring Science, Work Life and Social Welfare

  • Department of Work Life and Social Welfare
  • Department of Caring Science

Faculty of Librarianship, Information, Education and IT

  • Swedish School of Library and Information Science
  • Department of Pre-School and School Teacher Education
  • Department of Information Technology
  • Department of Educational Research and Development

Faculty of Police Work

  • Department of Campus Police Education
  • Department of Distance Police Education

Professional Services

  • Faculty Support Office
  • University Library
  • Campus Facilities and Sustainability Office
  • Finance Office
  • Human Resources
  • IT Office
  • Communications Office
  • Academic Affairs Office